Home

There are a number of things that I’ve always thought “cool, I wish I could do that” only to realise what a potential fail I’d be setting myself up for if I even tried. With my bit-piece grasp of the Shona language, more akin to Shonglish, I would never attempt rapping in vernac!.

As well introducing us to South African MC Miss Nthabi Mofokeng, this Mail & Guardian article touches on some of the issues affecting a rapidly growing SA Hip Hop genre… how one might appeal to the widest possible audience whilst maintaining their own identity in a country of 11 languages, and how one can define theirr own style in an industry dominated and heavily influenced by American artists and tastes.

Leave a Reply

