Home

OK, so I’ve owned a bike or two in my time but never one that I worked for, sweated for, saved for and eventually bought myself!

My dad always says that back in the day, it was a BIG thing to buy your first bike! It was your first real asset and a sign that you’d arrived as a working man. Chances are… your kids would some day learn to ride on that very same bike and quite possibly pass it on a number of generations. That’s how he (my dad) learnt to ride, although it wasn’t his father’s bike – it was his friend’s father’s bike. He and his friends would borrow it and give each other a boost, holding the seat and yelling “chovha, chovha” or “pedal, pedal”. They were too short to mount the bike the conventional way so they’d slide in under the toptube and somehow propel themselves from there. I tried it once and it ain’t easy!

Last week I drove my dad out to the Cradle of Mankind to find a popular cycle route as recommended in Bicycling magazine. There he saddled his latest cycling machine (worth enough to buy my first car) and rode the undulating roads like a horse set free. The views were breathtaking and I kicked myself for not having brought my camera… the air was also fresh and crisp, it felt like a lifetime away from the smoggy skies of Jo’burg. And besides the odd car that drove by every now and then, this was a tranquil escape, not just for the biker’s… though you probably had to be on one to get the full effect. I was inspired!

Well, I’ve BEEN meaning to get myself a bike for month’s now and today I finally plucked up the courage (and scraped together the budget) to take the jump. I had done loads of research already (buyer’s guides, customer reviews, bike forums, etc) and had chosen my ideal bike well before arriving at the bike shop, but somehow ended up getting something completely different and way over my initial budget! Regardless of the financial pains, I got such an adrenaline rush when picking out my bike and even finding a helmet – the moment I carted it out the shop was like being a kid again, singing “I just got my my first bicyle, I just got my my first bicyle“.

Well, without furter ado, this is it… my first mountain bike:

Scott Sports Bike Aspect 10

Scott Sports Bike Aspect 10

Full Specs:

  • Model: Bike Aspect 10
  • Frame: Aspect Alloy 6061 D.B., Performance geometry, Integrated headtube
  • Fork: Rock Shox Recon, Silver TK Solo Air, Pop loc lockout, Rebound adjustable, 100 mm travel
  • Headset: Ritchey Logic OE integrated
  • Rear Derailleur: Shimano XT, RD-M780 SGS, Shadow Type, 30 Speed
  • Front Derailleur: Shimano Deore, FC-M590-10, 34.9mm
  • Shifters: Shimano Deore SL-M591-10, Rapidfire plus, 2 way release, w/gear indicator
  • Brake Levers: Shimano BL-M445 Disc
  • Brakes: Shimano BR-M446 Disc, Hydr. Disc
  • Crankset: Shimano FC-M552, black, 42Ax32Ax24S T
  • BB-Set: Shimano Cartridge, 68mm shell
  • Handlebar: Scott Aspect OS, 640mm, black, 31.8mm, 15mm rise, 8° backsweep
  • Stem: Scott Comp, JD-ST57 A
  • Pedals: Wellgo C 128
  • Seatpost: Scott Comp, 31.6mm
  • Seat: Scott Aspect
  • Front Hub: Scott Disc Team CL
  • Rear Hub: Shimano FH-RM 66-CL
  • Chain: Shimano CN-HG54
  • Cassette: Shimano CS-HG62-10, 11-36 T
  • Spokes: 15 G, stainless, black
  • Rims: Alex XC-44 Disc 32H, black
  • Tires: Schwalbe Rocket Ron, 26 x 2.1, 50 EPI wire, Performance Serie
  • Weight: 12.40 kg / 27.31 lbs

Dig deeper: www.scott-sports.com

One thought on “My First Bicycle

Leave a Reply

