Home

I’ve been on a mission to personailise my living space of late… putting up floating shelves above my desk, framing photos for my family picture wall, etc. One thing I really wanted was somewhere or some way to organize my rapidly growing collection of hats. Fine, there are some hats that are seasonal and I could just store them in my wardrobe (or closet – depending on which side of the ocean you’re from) but, there are also some mainstays in then collection that I will wear every other day – and it’s these that I need to access easily. And so the search began… I tried every furniture, design, home improvement, hardware store in the area and all I could find was those hat hooks; actually more like wooden slabs with 3 or so hooks on them – boring (and not enough capacity for my collection of hats anyway)! Next stop, Google… after hours (maybe even days) searching online I eventually stumbled on the inspiration for this project on a little blog called Lookie What I Did and it fired up my not so secret passion for crafts and all things DIY. The blog articles in question were A Closet Organizer for Him and A Closet Organizer for Her. Without further ado, here’s my interpretation:

My framed hat rack

My framed hat rack project... the final product 🙂

Here’s what you’ll need (or rather, what I used) to make this hat rack:

  • Picture Frame (my sister just happened to smash her mirror, my Dad had thrown out the frame and I was lucky to find it before the garbage was collected) – Alternative: make your own Frame
  • Photo Backing Board (there’s normally one in the frame) – Alternative: buy pre-measured Peg Board
  • Fabric (enough to cover the board)
  • Drawer knobs (visit your local hardware) – Alternative: buy Peg Board Hooks
  • Staple Gun and Staples
  • Hand Drill and Bit
  • Spray Paint
  • Nail – Alternative: Craft Knife
  • Screw & Wallplug
  • Pliers

I started by painting my frame black (all my photos are framed black so it only made sense to match them up). I used fast drying spray paint and a couple of coats is all it took – I went for the Satin variety as opposed to Gloss or Matt.

My frame... before, and after

My frame... before, and after

Next up was preparing the backing board (purchasing Peg Board allows you to skip this step). I did my measurements and worked out the optimum layout of hooks/knobs to accomodate my hats, then, using a 6mm drill bit to drill the holes. Here’s the backing board laying down on the fabric –  I left a 10cm margin of fabric on each side. When I was ready to staple it, I folded it down twice (5cm, then another 5cm) and then stapled.

Stapling fabric to backing board

Stapling fabric to backing board

I used a nail to pierce the fabric where the holes were (i.e. where the hooks/knobs would go), and then used the craft knife to make sure the hole would let the screw through…

Piercing fabric where hooks/knobs will go

Piercing fabric where hooks/knobs will go

The knobs were easy to install, just screwed them on. And slotted the backing board back into the frame (this was where I used the pliers to bend the nails back and hold the board in place – sorry no picture)…

Backing board, knobs and frame installed

Backing board, knobs and frame installed

Finally, drilled a hole in the wall, dropped in a wallplug, and screwed in the screw – leaving enough protruding to hang the frame on (frame already had rope for hanging). And voila, here’s the finshed product on my wall.

Fin!

Fin!

Pretty chuffed with that… thanks to Missy at Lookie What I Did.

Leave a Reply

