Home

This challenge should’ve been dead easy… however, I have serious issues letting go of any photos – good or bad. As such, I have quite a few potential rejects and therefore, a lot of sifting to be done; in fact, I have so many (potential rejects) that I decided it may be more appropriate to showcase a few of them as oppossed to my usual, stingy, one post per challenge.

The first photo was taken on a blisteringly cold walk to work a couple of winters ago. I was living in Aberdeen, Scotland at the time and I promise you the temperature was not normal. Due to the adverse weather conditions, the train had been late which meant I was late –  but no matter how fast I tried to walk, the icy ground beneath my feet kept giving way and the snowy breeze stinging my face. I couldn’t believe I was there and not back here in sunny South Africa, and the only thing I could think to do was take a photo to use as  evidence should the opportunity present itself for me to whine about it.

Aberdeen Snow

Snow – Dyce, Aberdeen

The next photo was taken at the much cosier O2 ABC (concert venue) in Glasgow where me and my ‘better half’ went to see Janelle Monae live in concert early in 2011. Come to think of it, I actually reviewed the gig here. I knew from Miss Monae’s music and her videos that she was different but this was to be a very surreal experience… beyond all expectations! Take a closer look… what do you see?

Janelle Monae

Janelle Monae – O2 ABC, Glasgow

Next is a snap that I actually took on the day I collected my camera. I was on my way to watch Arsenal play in the Emirates Cup and my dodgy pocket camera just wouldn’t do. I recalled a rugby match I saw at Ellis Park, Johannesburg back in my high school days and all the players looked like ants in my snaps – even though I could see them clearly myself. So this time there were to be no mistakes in preserving my memories… or so I thought. Anyway, the photo speaks more than just a thousand words – the quality shows just how fresh I was at using my new equipment and, the fact I’ve kept it (the photo) to this date despite the obvious FAIL, shows just how much of a fan I am of the Gunners. Seen here is Tomas Rosicky taking a free kick. Although the match ended in a 1-1 draw, I was more focussed on the fact I was in the stands… at the Emirates… amongst fellow Gooners… for the first time. Hopefully not the last!

Tomas Rosicky - Arsenal vs NY Red Bulls, Emirates Cup, Emirates Stadium

Tomas Rosicky – Arsenal vs NY Red Bulls, Emirates Cup, Emirates Stadium

This is a flower… a yellow flower… it’s blurry… need I say more?!

Macro Tulip

Macro Tulip

This is what happens when you try take a photo of the moon without a tripod…

Moonlighting Aberdeen

Moonlighting Aberdeen

This was an attempt to capture the vibrations of a tattooist’s gun in a still image…

Ouch - Tattoos @ Rebel Ink, Aberdeen

Ouch – Tattoos @ Rebel Ink, Aberdeen

Last, but certainly not least is my Springbok, I was so excited to see the animal, I chose the wrong setting and almost walked away without a single decent image – gutted!

Blurry Bok, Legend Golf & Safari Resort, Limpopo

Blurry Bok, Legend Golf & Safari Resort, Limpopo

Fin!

Leave a Reply

