Home
Where there's smoke, there's fire

Where there’s smoke, there’s fire

Ain’t a thing wrong! Or so it seems…

I don’t normally go out looking for wrong things – I like to take near perfect pictures of near perfect objects/subjects. This means that I’d normally avoid the bruised petal, position my subject in front of the patched up wall, take the photo over and over again, and so on. It’s not that I’m suffering from photographic OCD or anything like that, I just like to put my best foot forward, and that extends to my photos.

I’ve also realised that I have a penchant for seeking happy photos, so I’ll tend to look for bright colours and funny/fun subjects, often ask people to smile or say cheese, and so the story goes… As a result, I’m probably not the best at capturing emotions and, I take very few candid / unarranged shots.

So imagine my reaction at being presented with a challenge that required me to present “something wrong”. Ok, I exaggerate, it wasn’t all that bad but I definately had to strain my brain muscles. Luckily, on my way back from holiday this weekend I drove past a paper company’s tree plantation where a forest fire was in full swing. The clouds of smoke had me awestruck and for once I took a picture of something wrong.

7 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Wrong

  1. Hey Sharon, thanks for the comment… I’m also glad I stepped out my normal bounds – it’s one of the reasons I decided to join the weekly challenge. Anyway, will definately check out your interpretation.

  2. I think when you photograph the ‘wrong’, you bring attention to it, and increase the likelihood of something being ‘righted’ in the future. It is unfortunate when there is a sort of beauty in something wrong, but there it is. The colours are spectacular.

  3. Thank you Good Villager… I think you’ve highlighted a great point, if the ‘wrong’ is not outed then the likelihood of it being righted is certainly slim. Funny how your photo of ‘wrong’ could be the trigger for my photo of ‘wrong’… if that makes sense?! Anyway, you’ve all helped curb my enthusiasm to always seek perfect subjects/objects and opened my mind to why the ‘wrong’ is not so bad to photograph too.

  4. This was a thought challenge. Right and wrong are so subjective. Even a forest fire, as destructive as it seems, has regenerative qualities which make the forest better in the long run. For example, wildfires convert old growth forests into newer growth.

Leave a Reply

