Home

This week’s photo challenge is urban. “The idea behind urban photography is to photograph your city and the streets where you grew up as they are.”

Unfortunately, I’ve got nothing on the city where I grew up… not many people had access to cameras when I was young. Most photo opportunities came at special events or occasions but I was never behind the camera or at the receiving end of any of the prints.

Fortunately, as I’ve grown up I’ve been blessed enough to travel to, study in, and live in a number of cities. My “Adventures with my smartphone” series (Vol. 1, Vol. 2, Vol. 3) is one way I’ve begun to document urban life whilst on the go.

Urban is reflected in the cityscapes that we’ve created to house our modern lives… apartment blocks, hospitals, libraries, shopping malls, etc. This all means urban to me.

National Football Musuem, Manchester

National Football Museum, Manchester

Urban is reflected in the way we’ve tried to hold on to elements of the natural world in these cities of ours… botanical gardens, zoos, plant nurseries, etc. This all means urban to me.

Swan in The Serpentine, Hyde Park, London

Swan in The Serpentine, Hyde Park, London

Urban is reflected in the structures we’ve built to protect, share and celebrate our cultures… museums, art galleries, theatres, sporting arenas, etc. This all means urban to me.

Soccer City, Nasrec, Johannesburg

Soccer City, Nasrec, Johannesburg

There are many more things that mean urban to me, but at the core of all this is us, humans, people. Ultimately, we have raised these urban realms from dust and water, we have populated and given them life, we have named and decorated them.

Leave a Reply

